Castle Connell
Template:Short description Template:DMCA Template:DMCA Script error: No such module "about".

Castle Connell (Template:Langx) was a castle on the banks of the River Shannon in the village of Castleconnell, approximately 11 km (6.8 mi) from the city of Limerick, Ireland.
History
The castle was built on a rock overlooking the River Shannon by the O'Connell's. It was the seat of the chief of Hy-Cuilean, a territory south-east of Abbeyfeale, in the barony of Upper Connello near the borders of Cork and Kerry.Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:Footnotes/anchor_id_list' not found. The castle then came into the possession of the O'Briens of Thomond.Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:Footnotes/anchor_id_list' not found.
The castle was blown up by General Godert de Ginkel during the War of the Two Kings.Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:Footnotes/anchor_id_list' not found. Its ruins are visible on the approach to the village on the road from Limerick.
See also
- Carrigogunnell, a castle on the west side of Limerick
References
Citations
Page Template:Reflist/styles.css has no content.
Bibliography
- Page Module:Citation/CS1/styles.css has no content.Barry, James Grene (1889), "William Fitz-Adelm de Burgh and The Bourkes of Clanwilliam", Journal of the Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland, archived from the original on 29 March 2013
- Page Module:Citation/CS1/styles.css has no content.Robertson, Ian (1979), Ireland, Blue guide (4, illustrated ed.), E. Benn
- Attribution
[[Category:Template:Resolve category redirect]]Template:Coord missing/CheckCat