Countersett

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Template:Short description Template:DMCA Template:DMCA

Template:Short descriptionPage Module:Infobox/styles.css has no content.Page Template:Infobox UK place/styles.css has no content.

Countersett
Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:InfoboxImage/data' not found.
Looking over Countersett to Raydale
Lua error in Module:Location_map at line 526: Unable to find the specified location map definition: "Module:Location map/data/United Kingdom North Yorkshire" does not exist.
Script error: No such module "Infobox mapframe".
OS grid reference[[[:Template:Ordnance Survey url]] SD919878]
Civil parishPage Template:Plainlist/styles.css has no content.
Unitary authorityPage Template:Plainlist/styles.css has no content.
Ceremonial countyPage Template:Plainlist/styles.css has no content.
RegionPage Template:Plainlist/styles.css has no content.
CountryScript error: No such module "Link if exists".
Crown dependencyScript error: No such module "Link if exists".
Sovereign stateUnited Kingdom
Post townLeyburn
Postcode districtDL8
Page Module:Infobox/styles.css has no content.
PoliceNorth Yorkshire
FireNorth Yorkshire
AmbulanceYorkshire
UK ParliamentPage Template:Plainlist/styles.css has no content.
Page Template:Hlist/styles.css has no content.
Page Template:Nobold/styles.css has no content.List of places
UK
England
Yorkshire
Lua error: callParserFunction: function "#coordinates" was not found.

Script error: No such module "Check for conflicting parameters".

Countersett is the largest of the three settlements in Raydale, around Semerwater in the county of North Yorkshire, England. It is in the Yorkshire Dales to the north of the lake. The Boar East and West were once one farm, and before that a pub called The Boar Inn. The date 1667 was above the door, along with a Latin inscription which translated as "Now mine, once thine, but whose afterwards I do not know" (ref. Wensleydale, by Ella Pontefract, Dent & Sons, 1936)

File:Countersetthall external.jpg
Countersett Hall

Countersett Hall dates back to the twelfth century. In 1650 Richard Robinson, the first Quaker in Wensleydale purchased the hall and extended it. It is a stone built Manor House with Richard Robinson's and his wife's initials and date of purchase, 1650, inscribed in stone above the front door. Illicit Quaker meetings were held in the Hall before the establishment of the nearby Meeting House. George Fox, a founder of the Society of Friends, stayed at Countersett Hall in 1652 and 1677.[1] There is a local legend that Mary, Queen of Scots, stopped off at the hall on her way to Bolton Castle in 1558.

Countersett Quaker Meeting House was converted from an old barn in 1710 by Richard Robinson's son. A Quaker service is held there on the last Sunday of each month. The Meeting House is open to the public. On-foot access is via the signposted entrance by Chapel Farmhouse which is situated on the main road which runs through Countersett. The meeting house is grade II listed. During recent refurbishments, a kitchen and toilets were added.

From 1974 to 2023 it was part of the district of Richmondshire, it is now administered by the unitary North Yorkshire Council.

Countersett was featured in the British television series All Creatures Great and Small, in the episode "Two of a Kind".[2]

References

Page Template:Reflist/styles.css has no content.

  1. ^ Script error: No such module "Template wrapper".
  2. ^ "Marsett Lane, Countersett, N Yorks, UK – All Creatures Great & Small, Two Of A Kind (1988)" - Waymarking.com

Page Module:Side box/styles.css has no content.Page Template:Sister project/styles.css has no content.

Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:Authority control/config' not found.


Template:Asbox