Spanish Arch

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Template:Short description Template:More footnotes Template:DMCA Template:Use Irish English

Page Module:Infobox/styles.css has no content.

Spanish Arch
Template:Native name list
Eyre Arch
Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:InfoboxImage/data' not found.
The Spanish Arch and the Caoċ Arch as they stand today, on the east bank of the Corrib
Lua error in Module:Location_map at line 526: Unable to find the specified location map definition: "Module:Location map/data/Ireland Galway" does not exist.
Script error: No such module "Infobox mapframe".
Lua error: callParserFunction: function "#coordinates" was not found.
Typearchway, part of a former city wall
LocationGalway, Ireland
History
Builtearly 18th century
Page Module:Infobox/styles.css has no content.Script error: No such module "Check for conflicting parameters".

Script error: No such module "Check for conflicting parameters".

The Spanish Arch (Template:Langx) and the Caoċ Arch (Template:Langx, "blind arch") in Galway city, Ireland, are two remaining arches on the Ceann an Bhalla ("Front Wall").

History

The two arches were part of the extension of the city wall from Martin's Tower to the bank of the River Corrib, as a measure to protect the city's quays, which were in the area once known as the Fish Market (now Spanish Parade). It was constructed during the mayoralty of Wylliam Martin in 1584, being called ceann an bhalla (the head of the wall).

In the 18th century the Eyre family of Eyrecourt, County Galway, created an extension of the quays called The Long Walk and created the arches to allow access from the town to the new quays. The designation "Spanish" is not historical to this period and was likely known as the Eyre Arch when built.

In 1755, the arches were partially destroyed by the tsunami generated by the 1755 Lisbon earthquake.

Until 2006, part of the Arch housed the Galway City Museum. At that time, the museum was moved to a new, dedicated building located just behind the Arch.

The Long Walk is a promenade to one side of the Arches.[1]

Cultural depictions

As a historical landmark, the Spanish Arch appears in several media works set in Galway, including the 1957 film The Rising of the Moon.

References

Page Template:Reflist/styles.css has no content.

  1. ^ Page Module:Citation/CS1/styles.css has no content."Erich Habich's Virtual Galway: The Long Walk". ehabich.info. Retrieved 16 May 2008.
  • History of Galway, James Hardiman, 1820
  • Old Galway, Maureen Donovan O'Sullivan, 1942
  • The Tribes of Galway 1124-1642, Adrian Martyn, 2016

Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:Navbox/configuration' not found. Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:Authority control/config' not found.