Stams
Script error: No such module "Settlement short description".Page Module:Infobox/styles.css has no content.Page Template:Infobox settlement/styles.css has no content.
Stams | |
|---|---|
| Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:InfoboxImage/data' not found. Stams Abbey | |
| Page Template:Infobox settlement/columns/styles.css has no content.
Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:InfoboxImage/data' not found. Coat of arms | |
| Script error: No such module "Infobox mapframe". | |
| Lua error in Module:Location_map at line 526: Unable to find the specified location map definition: "Module:Location map/data/Austria" does not exist. | |
| Coordinates: Lua error: callParserFunction: function "#coordinates" was not found. | |
| Country | Austria |
| State | Tyrol |
| District | Imst |
| Government | |
| • Mayor | Franz Gallop |
| Area | |
• Total | Script error: No such module "ConvertIB". |
| Elevation | Script error: No such module "ConvertIB". |
| Population | Template:Fix comma category |
| Population | |
• Total | Template:Fix comma category |
| • Density | Script error: No such module "ConvertIB". |
| Template:Pluralize from text | Template:Pluralize from text |
| Time zone | UTC+1 (CET) |
| • Summer (DST) | UTC+2 (CEST) |
| Postal code | 6422 |
| Area code | 05263 |
| Vehicle registration | IM |
| Website | www.stams.co.at |
Script error: No such module "Check for conflicting parameters".
Stams is a municipality in Imst District, in the Austrian state of Tyrol. It is chiefly known for Cistercian Stams Abbey (Stift Stams), founded in 1273 by Count Meinhard II of Gorizia-Tyrol and his wife.[1]
Geography
Stams is located on the southern shore of the Inn River about 18.50 km (11.50 mi) east of Imst, 7 km (4.3 mi) west of Telfs and 46 km (29 mi) west of the state capital Innsbruck. The village contains Stams has 1300 inhabitants who are living in different parts of the village – called Thannrain, Windfang, Staudach, Haslach, Maehmoos und Hauland.
History
Archaeological findings indicate a church already existed at the site about 700 AD. The locality of Stammes in the Duchy of Bavaria was first mentioned in a 1063 deed, it became a possession of the Counts of Tyrol.
The Meinhardiner count Meinhard II of Gorizia, sole ruler of Tyrol from 1271, established a proprietary monastery together with his wife Elisabeth of Bavaria, widow of the Hohenstaufen king Conrad IV of Germany. The first Cistercian monks descended from Kaisheim in Swabia, itself a filial of Morimond Abbey; they were enfeoffed with extended estates in Silz, Meran and Mals and soon evolved to a spiritual centre of the region. It became the burial place not only of Count Meinhard and his consort, but also of his son Duke Henry of Carinthia, of the Habsburg duke Frederick IV of Austria and his wife Anna of Brunswick, of his son Archduke Sigismund of Austria and his wife Eleanor of Scotland, as well as of Bianca Maria Sforza, second wife of Emperor Maximilian I.
During the 16th-century Protestant Reformation and German Peasants' War the monastic community decayed. In the course of the 1552 rebellion against Emperor Charles V, the premises were plundered by the troops of Elector Maurice of Saxony; even the grave of Maurice' brother Severinus was destroyed. The monastery was largely rebuilt in its present-day Baroque style from the early 17th century onwards, including Wessobrunner stuccowork by Franz Xaver Feuchtmayer.
Stams Abbey was temporarily dissolved in 1807 by order of King Maximilian I Joseph of Bavaria, who had received the Tyrolean lands by the 1805 Peace of Pressburg but re-established after Stams was restored to the Austrian Empire in 1816. Again disseized by the Nazi German authorities upon the Austrian Anschluss in 1938, it was resettled by Cistercian monks after the end of World War II, who established several educational institutions, including the Skigymnasium Stams (Stams ski boarding school), the Kirchliche Pädagogische Hochschule – Edith Stein school of education, and the Meinhardinum gymnasium. The abbey church was elevated to the rank of a minor basilica by Pope John Paul II in 1984.
Population
Page Module:Historical populations/styles.css has no content.
| Year | Pop. | ±% |
|---|---|---|
| 1869 | 599 | — |
| 1880 | 565 | −5.7% |
| 1890 | 485 | −14.2% |
| 1900 | 496 | +2.3% |
| 1910 | 561 | +13.1% |
| 1923 | 543 | −3.2% |
| 1934 | 635 | +16.9% |
| 1939 | 628 | −1.1% |
| 1951 | 813 | +29.5% |
| 1961 | 1,008 | +24.0% |
| 1971 | 1,054 | +4.6% |
| 1981 | 1,037 | −1.6% |
| 1991 | 1,183 | +14.1% |
| 2001 | 1,261 | +6.6% |
| 2011 | 1,335 | +5.9% |
Image gallery
-
Stams Monastery
-
Stams Monastery interior
-
Stams Monastery interior
-
Stams Monastery interior
-
Church Stams
Twin town
Script error: No such module "Labelled list hatnote". Stams is twinned with:
- Template:Flagicon Kaisheim, Germany, since 1978
References
Page Template:Reflist/styles.css has no content.
- ^ Chizzali. Tyrol: Impressions of Tyrol. (Innsbruck: Alpina Printers and Publishers), p. 64
External links
Page Module:Side box/styles.css has no content.Page Template:Sister project/styles.css has no content.
Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:Navbox/configuration' not found. Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:Authority control/config' not found.