Tyle Mill Lock
Template:Short description Template:DMCA Template:DMCA
Tyle Mill Lock (grid reference Script error: No such module "Ordnance Survey coordinates".) is a lock situated near Tyle Mill and the village of Sulhamstead on the Kennet and Avon Canal, England.
Tyle Mill Lock was built between 1718 and 1723 under the supervision of the engineer John Hore of Newbury, and this stretch of the river is now administered by the Canal & River Trust as part of the Kennet Navigation. It has a change in level of 6 ft 4 in (1.93 m).[1]
The lock became derelict in the 1950s and then formed the head of the navigation from the River Thames. As a result, British Waterways created a winding hole and installed a sanitary station in the old pillbox below the lock. It was restored in 1973 but remained out of commission until 1976 when work on locks further west had been completed.[2]
Close to the lock are a wharf and swing bridge.
Swing bridge gallery
-
Sulhamstead Tyle Mill swing bridge road traffic
-
Sulhamstead Tyle Mill swing bridge opening
-
Sulhamstead Tyle Mill swing bridge canal traffic
References
Page Template:Reflist/styles.css has no content.
- ^ Page Module:Citation/CS1/styles.css has no content.Pearson, Michael (2003). Kennet & Avon Middle Thames:Pearson's Canal Companion. Rugby: Central Waterways Supplies. ISBN 0-907864-97-X.
- ^ Page Module:Citation/CS1/styles.css has no content.Allsop, Niall (1987). The Kennet & Avon Canal. Bath: Millstream Book. ISBN 0-948975-15-6.
See also
Lua error in mw.title.lua at line 404: bad argument #2 to 'title.new' (unrecognized namespace name 'Portal').
Template:Kennet and Avon Canal
Lua error: callParserFunction: function "#coordinates" was not found.